Reviews

October 2016 - “Amazing”

This traditional home is centrally located and very peacefull and charming. We had a fantastic room fully equiped. Thanks to Alexandra (the host), she is very kind and if you need an help she is always ready to give a hand. ~In Eno Osteria, Milan, Italy. Reviewed October 2016

August 2016 - “This is Greece truly fabulous”

Been to Skopelos many times over the last 20 years but always went with a tour firm. We have not been for 8 years so booked 2 weeks on Skiathos and found Sotos on Skopelos.Net website. What a find, its a 150 year old harbour side house still in the same family and now run by Alexandra, a very warm and friendly person who was born in the house. Sotos is a tardis of 12 rooms, 2 courtyards and a reception and kitchen.

You enter through an unassuming single door straight off the sea front and up a steep staircase it then opens out into the old kitchen complete with the old wood burning range but now serves as the office/reception. We were warmly welcomed by Alexandra who was married to an Englishman and lived in Norfolk. From the office and up a few steps is the guest kitchen where you can brew up or make breakfast, there is tea, coffee milk portions and jam or honey and crisp toast all included in the price and a couple of cooking rings.

Up a couple more steps and you reach the lower courtyard set with tables and chairs and where you can dry your washing (there is also a washing machine) the rooms fan out down little corridors and passage ways and would not be out of place in Cornwall, up a few more steps and you have the roof terrace again laid out with tables and chairs and washing lines more rooms lead off down wonky passage ways.

Although we had a room at the front above a tavern you could only hear conversation which died down after midnight and was never a problem. All rooms are on suite and have free air con and free Wi-Fi. A fab place which typifies Greece. Room Tip: Pay a bit more for a large room on the top floor and enjoy the roof terrace. ~Paulcurry, Stockport, United Kingdom. Stayed August 2016, travelled as a couple

June 2016 - “Outstanding location, Great value”

Pension Kir Sotos is located right on the harbour front/promenade – a prime location – and a quick walk to restaurants, bars and shops. Also a 5 min walk from where the ferry drops you. The perfect base from which to hire a car/quad bike/scooter to explore the more remote parts of the island which is also where the best beaches are – highly recommended.

A steep and narrow staircase takes you into the reception area. The accommodation is simple – white linen and towels are provided. The rooms are air conned. We booked rooms 1,2,3,4 & 5 which were all spacious enough to accommodate us and our suitcases comfortably. Not sure about all the bathrooms, but the one in room 2 is very small with a toilet, shower, basin – fine for a short stay but perhaps not for a longer stay.

The owner Alexandra was extremely accommodating allowing us to use her washing machine and play our music whilst relaxing before dinner in the courtyard. The kitchen is also small but does have a stove top for cooking and a fridge for storing food although we decided to eat out for most meals.

I would recommend staying here purely for the location – you really can’t beat it. Wifi not that reliable although it is free. Room Tip: Front facing or courtyard rooms were all great. ~Meijess, Cape Town, South Africa. Stayed June 2016, travelled with friends

Settembre 2015 - “Location perfetta, bellissima atmosfera, economico!”

Come da titolo, affacciata sulla piazzetta principale di Skopelos Town, questa tranquilla pensione/ostello è stata per noi una rivelazione.

Non solo la posizione imbattibile e il prezzo davvero stracciato – 25€ a notte per una camera matrimoniale – ma la gentilezza di Alexandra la padrona di casa e la grande area esterna hanno reso il nostro soggiorno fantastico.

Personalmente ho dormito meglio qui che in alberghi ben più quotati e appariscenti. Sotos rappresenta una scelta di qualità e convenienza al tempo stesso. Nondimeno la struttura dispone di una piccola cucina per gli ospiti, comodissima per organizzare una colazione in terrazzo (spettacolare) o un aperitivo post spiaggia.

Se ve ne fregate di avere la piscina, il frigo in camera e altre inutili boiate e cercate un alloggio con un’anima, ben posizionato e in più di categoria low budget, beh non indugiate oltre! ~Cuckoo4Caca, Genova, Italia. Ha soggiornato in Settembre 2015, viaggiato in coppia

Agosto 2015 - “Assolutamente il top”

Appena partiti da Skopelos tristi di lasciare un’isola così bella nella sua semplicità. La pensione Kir Sotos é stata la ciliegina sulla torta di una vacanza tutta relax e mare. Alexandra é una magnifica padrona di casa e la struttura offre l’opportunità di vivere a prezzi davvero competitivi una vera esperienza Greca.

Grazie alla sua splendida corte interna dove poter leggere un libro in tranquillità o fare colazione, le camere ampie e pulitissime al centro di Skopelos city e la cucina in comune messa a disposizione da Alexandra dove é possibile prepararsi ottime colazioni e panini. Consigliatissimo per chi cerca un’esperienza della vera Grecia. ~Siuccina, Napoli, Italia. Ha soggiornato in Agosto 2015, viaggiato con gli amici

Luglio 2015 - “Posto incantevole”

Stanza meravigliosa con camino e sempre fresche, bello il patio centrale e la cucina in comune e servita e pulita. La pensione da direttamente sul porto ma non si sente nessun rumore dall’interno, posizione comoda. ~Saranselmo, Milano, Italia. Luglio 2015

September 2014 - “Location, location, location!”

This is now my fourth time in Skopelos and I’ve always stayed at Kir Sotos. Here I find everything I need: Top location. Affordable prices. Comfortable rooms. Lovely view from the terrace. Cats. The owner, Alexandra, is lovely. Please keep in mind that the place has steep steps. ~Laila L, Turku, Finland. Reviewed September 2014, travelled solo

July 2014 - “Full of Character”

I stayed here for two nights on the recommendation of two English ex-pats who live in Skopelos. It is in an ideal location, right on the harbour in Skopelos Town. I had room 6, which is compact but adequate for a single traveller. There are two single beds, an en-suite bathroom, with a lovely hot powerful shower, a little writing table, a small fridge, TV, free air-con.

The owner, Alexandra, told me to help myself to coffee in the little kitchen off the lower terrace. This is very pretty with lemon trees and potted plants. There is also an upper terrace with more tables and chairs and overlooks the harbour through the trees. I felt very at home there and will return next time I’m in Skopelos. Room Tip: Room 6 is fine for a single traveller. ~Scope254, Croydon. Stayed July 2014, travelled solo

July 2012 - “Comfortable and an amazing value”

We stayed here on a recent four-day midweek trip to the Island. The pension is quite small, just 12 rooms, and located right on the port in the town of Skopelos. My room was very small, but comfortable, with hard wood floors, large windows (with jasmin) and a small but complete and functioning bathroom. My travelling companions had a slightly larger room, with it’s own refrigerator. Both rooms had working air conditioning.

There are two very nice terraces and access to a kitchen. The operator, Alessandra, is down to earth and may seem severe but she is helpful and made our stay very pleasant. Other pros: wi-fi, books to read/borrow, friendly cats, price. Cons: not very accessible; steep and narrow stairwell at the entrance and another one before the rooms. ~Goldberg988. Stayed July 2012

July 2011 - “A beautiful gem of a place on a wonderful island!”

We, my husband, myself and my two children who are now teenagers, have been going here now for many years and consider Alex as one of our very best friends! Pension Sotos could not be considered as the height of luxury but it is clean, comfortable and very unique. It is a haven on the waterfront of Skopelos main harbour and very close to some very good tavernas, bars and cafes. It is not noisy although at the very heart of things, the two terraces within the heart of this traditional Skopelitan home are a tranquil place to sit and read, have breakfast or just a few late night glasses of wine with friends.

If you want a pool there are some hotels in Skopelos town within easy walking distance that do not mind you using their facilities or you can catch one of the many local buses that run throughout the day to go to the beaches, all of which are so beautiful! A holiday at Pension Sotos is laid back and traditional, a world away from the hustle and bustle of everyday life and a true place in which to unwind. ~Susan Perry, St Albans, United Kingdom. Stayed July 2011, travelled with family

May 2011 - “Travelled the world - this is a gem”

Ok all of what has been said before is absolutely true. This is renovated traditional building. It is absolutely stunning in terms of location and ambiance. To get to Sotos get off the Ferry, turn right, and walk along the quayside for 100m. It is nestled amongst the shops and Tavernas. Location wise it couldn’t be better. Clean rooms, nice bathrooms and plenty of hot water. Shower screens of the clingy curtain type and definitely not made for two but the honeymooners won’t notice. Run by the charming Alex, a straight talking but lovely woman who has been running Sotos for 30+ years.

The rooms all have single abutting beds many with three for families. Some rooms overlook the Tavernas which was fine for me. If you want really quiet rooms go for the ones around the courtyard at the back. If you want a view or the harbour rooms 1, 2 and 7 are the go. Wooden floors (that creak in the night) and stairs. If you have any questions just give Alex an email. She seems to respond quickly. Tea and coffee making facilities in the shared kitchen. You could cook there but why would you when you could go downstairs to any number of cheap places? Wi Fi available. Room Tip: View = noise, courtyard = quiet. ~MrHappy1951, Glenelg, Australia. Stayed May 2011, travelled solo

April 2011 - “Location Location Location...”

It has it – right on the waterfront. Up a steep flight of steps to be greeted by Alex, its very relaxed here – so if she is not here you just pick up the phone and call her. Lovely rooms which are traditional and well loved. Its clean, tidy, no airs and graces, honest greek accommodation – and I loved it.

Help yourself shared kitchen and breakfast out in the courtyard, beneath the lemon and orange trees, surrounded by fragrant flowers an an abundance of geraniums. Give it a try, you will enjoy it… Room Tip: High rooms have no better view, due to the trees, but the courtyard ones looked lovely. ~SkiathosLover1, Skiathos, Greece. Stayed April 2011, travelled with family

September 2009 - “My kind of place””

Kir Sotos pension was exactly what I was looking for; a nice and clean room with en suite facilities and warm water 24/7 in central Skopelos. The hostess Alex is most friendly. There’s a fridge where I had some water and yoghourts. The loveliest terrace and courtyard! Luxury to eat breakfast overlooking central Skopelos town! ~Laila L, Turku, Finland. Stayed September 2009, travelled solo

June 2009 - “Best stay ever”

Bautiful old traditional Skopelos house (right at the harbour) turned into a pension with the lovely Alex as it’s owner, we have stayed here 3 times over the last 26 years and will return over and over again. Beautiful courtyard for having breakfast in the morning, beautiful terrace overlooking the harbour and the terraces below, what more could a person wish for? ~Siesje, Vlissingen, Zeeland. Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple